Be A Leader

As a senior playing college basketball, I have had plenty experiences playing and have faced all kinds of adversity. Over the years I have learned from all of these experiences and should pass this knowledge down to all the younger players on my today. This can simply be to help them with their attitudes on and off the court, help them to understand that they are young and have some good time ahead of them, and to simply take care of business on and off the court.

 As a freshmen in college, I was forced to redshirt for my junior college, meaning I did not play my first year. This happened to me because there were two sophomore guards on the team that were really good and I simply would not have played. I thought I was really good coming out of high school, which I was but I was not on the same level as the returning players at the college. I understood this, and now days many people believe they should play big minutes and be the man right when they come out of high school, especially when they were the best player on their high school teams.

Also, when freshmen actually get their chances in games, they tend to get mad if they don’t get big minutes. I need to step up in a leader role and let these guys know that they will get their chance and opportunity. I should share my experience from previous years. I have witnessed several players over the years who were freshmen and were really good who didn’t play much because there were people ahead of them class wise and were just as good or better.

These players who did not play, most of the time understood that playing time is based on skill, performance, and experience. Also these guys came back the next year to get more playing time and did well. They were now in the position they wanted to be last year and were ahead of the freshmen or underclass players.

Also, I have witnessed several great players over the year flunk out of school and not get to finish their college careers. Most of the time everyone knew who was not doing well and school, and I feel like I could have done more to help these guys stay in school.

I want to take all these previous experiences and turn it into motivation to help others. I want to work with these younger players to develop their game. While developing their game, I can help build their attitudes positively to take advantage of the time they get in games and not worry about what they cannot control. I can speak up, and let them know that academics come first. Its not simply about helping people to feel better about yourself. When you are part of a college basketball organization those guys on the team become your family for yours.

It’s our duty to guide and be role models to younger players. We can have a profound effect on them and be an example of what they need to do.

Leave a Reply

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Splatter: on FILM

My view on films as I see them. Take it, laugh, share it, leave it. Above all, enjoy!

ProBasketballTalk

Basketball - NBC Sports

Motivation

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” - Marianne Williamson

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Splatter: on FILM

My view on films as I see them. Take it, laugh, share it, leave it. Above all, enjoy!

ProBasketballTalk

Basketball - NBC Sports

Motivation

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” - Marianne Williamson

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

