Education First

All throughout my life I have took pride in my school work and my grades. Throughout elementary school, middle school, and high school I basically got all A’s. I graduated high school number 6 in my class with a 4.3. Transitioning that to college requires a whole different type of work ethic. I had no problem working harder for my grades as I am only happy with high grades.  

Lately in my senior year of college, I have let a lot of things interfere with my school work and have found myself in a situation where I am struggling to finish my classes. I let the constant road trips for basketball to Miami, Jacksonville, Naples, Lakeland interfere with my opportunity to stay on track and remain focused. What many student-athletes fail to see is the fact that student comes first and if you aren’t a good student then there is no basketball.

Even though I am struggling at this movement, I am not nervous that I will fail. I just wished I had done things differently this semester, even If I had to bring a book and a pencil and write all my HW assignments out on the van and then just type them up when back from the trips.

I did not necessarily agree with travel arrangements made for these road trips which was basically leave early in the morning, play the game at 7, eat dinner, and then return to FC at like 4 am. But this goes back to taking responsibility.

You can say whatever you want about how this and that caused your under normal performance. In the end the responsibility falls back in the hands of one person alone. When you want something such as good grades, in my case all A’s, you have to put way more effort than I did. Somewhere along the line, I let numerous external factors influence what I was doing with my time and my time management skills went haywire.

I realize what I did, and I have enough time to correct my mistakes and show what a good student I can be when I put my mind and time towards it correctly. I want to end my senior year right with no let ups so intend to continue moving forward with my head on straight and vow to always find a way to get the important things done first next time.

All student athletes may have the mindset that it is tough to get school work done with all the road trips, practices, games or whatever it may be but at the end of the day, if you want to pass and get good grades it simply requires better time management. You may have to give up doing something socially here and there but it will be worth it. Remember, everyone’s basketball career comes to end sooner or later. What will you do when that happens? It’s essential to have a degree to fall back on. Never lose sight of what comes first as a college student-athlete,

Leave a Reply

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Splatter: on FILM

My view on films as I see them. Take it, laugh, share it, leave it. Above all, enjoy!

ProBasketballTalk

Basketball - NBC Sports

Motivation

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” - Marianne Williamson

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Splatter: on FILM

My view on films as I see them. Take it, laugh, share it, leave it. Above all, enjoy!

ProBasketballTalk

Basketball - NBC Sports

Motivation

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” - Marianne Williamson

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

