“My Good Deed for the Day”

I currently work at Sweetbay the supermarket and there a number of unusual things that occur on a day to day basis whether it may be with a customer or even an employee.

One day while working my assistant customer service manager comes over to me and says “you can take your ten minute break now if you would like.” So, I grab a snack and a drink and get in line to pay for it. There are two people ahead of me. First, there is a man getting ready to pay for his order, then an older woman, and then me. The man starts grabbing his pocket to find his money and he pulls out his wallet. He only had one item he was purchasing. It was a fruit snack tray sampler.

The older woman just walks forward and tells the cashier “just ring this stuff up too, I got it.’ “It is my good deed for the day,” the older woman tells the man. The man, reluctantly, starts saying no, it’s okay, I got it. The older woman simply refused and kept saying things like it’s not a problem, it’s my good deed for the day. Finally, the man caved and said thank you very much.

At first, I was sort of shocked because I have seen people help each stranger out when they were short of money and have seen people who simply could care less about the person in front of them in line. This situation that just transpired right in front of my eyes put me in some thought for the rest of the time I was at work.

I began to think, why don’t I do something like this? Not a onetime thing, but what if I found something to do each day that could simply be a good deed for the day. I started to brainstorm about things I could do because lets be real, sweetbay does not pay me that well for me to pay for someone’s item every time I am at the grocery store. But some of the ideas I came up with include simply paying someone a compliment, starting a conversation with someone who looks bored, actually give someone begging for money some kind of food item or a dollar or two. It could be anything that would simply put a smile on someone’s face.

I am the type of person who is happy because the people around me are happy. If I can put a smile on someone’s face it brightens my day. So every since then, I have given a dollar here and there to someone begging for money. I have complimented several people of numerous aspects, whether it was their shoes, clothes, or simply the way they carry themselves. Wouldn’t you like it if someone did this for you and made you smile, especially if you are having a rough day?

Simply by doing this, you allow yourself to not only brighten someone’s day but ultimately make yourself a better person. Is that what we all are trying to do with our lives? We go to school to become successful and be a better person, so down the road we can provide for a family and have nice home. Let’s not forget we are people and we are social creatures. One compliment can open many doors to your life.

Leave a Reply

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Splatter: on FILM

My view on films as I see them. Take it, laugh, share it, leave it. Above all, enjoy!

ProBasketballTalk

Basketball - NBC Sports

Motivation

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” - Marianne Williamson

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Splatter: on FILM

My view on films as I see them. Take it, laugh, share it, leave it. Above all, enjoy!

ProBasketballTalk

Basketball - NBC Sports

Motivation

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” - Marianne Williamson

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

