We Hold the Power to Our Success

Through the first ten games of our basketball season at Florida College, you could say I was having the best season of my college basketball career. Averaging nearly 14 points per game and having some big games against Division 1 Jacksonville University, NAIA Embry Riddle and Johnson and Wales. We had a solid .500 record and hoped to pick up our level of play for the remainder of the season and make our way to nationals.

Over the next 4 games, I really struggled shooting the ball and frustration started kicking in when I found myself on the bench at certain times of the game when I felt like I should be on the court helping my team. As controversial as it is to me and no matter what I felt, I started to take responsibility.

I was sitting here thinking what is it that I am doing wrong? Why am I not in the game at certain times? I could sit here and blame the coaches, other players, or even the refs. Some point in life you have to step up and say it starts with me. I realize that since I have been caught up doing so many different things with my time, that my work ethic fell off a little. I was not in the gym shooting on a consistent day to day basis. I didn’t lift weights anymore like used.

It all made sense now. When I was keeping up with my work ethic, I was having a great year, and was helping the team in every way I could. When I stopped putting as much effort in, the results spoke for themselves. The moral of this story is that the results you get out of something is reflective to the work you put in. No matter who you are, when you are doing something, give your full effort and commitment. If your heart is not in it, then maybe you need to find something else that you could do to better satisfy your wants and needs

I can almost promise you that once the season resumes after the winter break, I will be contributing to my team as I did throughout the first bunch of games and I will do all I can to help my team make it to the national tournament and hopefully bring home a banner.

Never lose sight of your goals, no matter what is going on around you. Although at times you may get side tracked and adversity may hit you in every way possible, remain focused on your goals. Find ways to overcome whatever it is that may be restraining or pushing you back. It’s better to work for what you want now, rather than look back and regret it. It starts with YOU.

Leave a Reply

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Splatter: on FILM

My view on films as I see them. Take it, laugh, share it, leave it. Above all, enjoy!

ProBasketballTalk

Basketball - NBC Sports

Motivation

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” - Marianne Williamson

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Splatter: on FILM

My view on films as I see them. Take it, laugh, share it, leave it. Above all, enjoy!

ProBasketballTalk

Basketball - NBC Sports

Motivation

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” - Marianne Williamson

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

